Karisimbi cyclers still on the lead

15 November 2011 at 15:54  

Rwandan cyclers under Karisimbi club emerged winners of today’s Tour of Rwanda cycling competition which started from the city’s Amahoro Stadium to Rubavu district in the Northern Province.

The annual cycling competition which entered its third day, American cycler Joseph Rosskopf was recognized to be the first to pass the finishing line but Karisimbi cyclers were acknowledged as the competition’s winners since they have been leading in several races since the contest started.

However judges haven’t confirmed fully if Rosskopf really was the first to pass the finishing line, but official results confirm that 3 Rwandan cyclists Gasore Hategeka, Abraham Ruhumuriza and Adrien Niyonshuti took the third place.

According to expressions from cyclers who contested in the Kigali to Rwamagana race. “Short and flat distances are harder since we cycle more compared to hilly areas like Rubavu because there’re resting parts especially when one is sloping,” said Nicodem Habiyambere.

Tomorrow (Wednesday) the race starts from Rubavu to Muhanga district.