Summary of Tour of Rwanda 2011

26 November 2011 at 20:12  

Last year, 10 teams participated in Tour of Rwanda 2011, this tour started on 20 November and ends on 26 November 2011, was organized n the third time.

787 kilometers divided into seven stages, the winner of Tour of Rwanda 2011 was an American Reijen Kiel from Type1 SANOFI team, At that time Rwandan team Kalisimbi was on first place in Team rankings.

Overview of the competition from 21 to 26 November

The six day Tour of Rwanda is an annual international cycling competition held in the country, this year it entailed seven races.

On the opening ceremony, the riders had short distance cycling competitions to the length of 3.8 Kilo Meters. During this race Reijnen Kiel emerged the winner.

On Monday 21 November, Kiel won the Kigali-Rwamagana race The same day in the evening the cyclers left Rwamagana past Kayonza to Kigali, again Kiel won the race.

On Tuesday, cyclers left the city to Rubavu district, the contest’s winner was Joseph Rosskopf.

On Wednesday, Kiel won again the race from Rubavu to Muhanga districts.

On Thursday, Belgian Smet Guy won the race from Muhanga to Huye districts.

On Friday, James Tennet from MTN QHUBEKA team won Huye to Karongi districts.

The final race held on Saturday, Rwandan Joseph Biziyaremye from Karongi to Kigali

Many people followed Tour of Rwanda 2011 including people living in all corners of the country, and others followed this tour through media working in Rwanda such as Rwanda Television, Radio Rwanda, Radio 10, Contact FM, Isango Star Radio, … on websites and newspapers we can enumerate The New Times,,…, Tour of Rwanda 2011 was covered also by international media such as TV5 Monde, L’Equipe, RMC Info, RFI, The Guardian,…