Team Rwanda’s Samuel Mugisha wins 2018 Tour du Rwanda

12 August 2018 at 16:06  

JPEG - 148 kb
Samuel Mugisha wins 2018 Tour du Rwanda

Stage 8: Kigali-Kigali 82.2km

Top Ten

1. Azzedine Lagab (GSP Algerie) 02h06’20”
2. David Lozano (Team Novo Nordisk) 02h06’20”
3. Didier Munyaneza (Team Rwanda) 02h06’20”
4. Moise Mugisha (Les Amis Sportifs) 02h06’20”
5. Simon Bellabouvier (Team Haute Savoie Rhone-Alpes) 02h06’20”
6. Mulu Hailemicheal (Ethiopia) 02h06’20”
7. Timothy Rugg (Team Embrace the World) 02h06’20”
8. Samuel Mugisha (Team Rwanda) 02h06’26”
9. Jonas Doring (Team Descartes Romandie) 02h06’26”
10. Jean Claude Uwizeye (POC Cote Lumiere) 02h06’26”

General Classification Top Ten

1. Samuel Mugisha (Team Rwanda) 24h26’53”
2. Jean Cluade Uwizeye (POC Cote Lumiere) 24h27’14”
3. Mulu Hailemicheal (Ethiopia) 24h27’57”
4. Azzedine Lagab (GSP Algerie) 24h28’13”
5. David Riba Lozano (Team Novo Nordisk) 24h28’20”
6. Valens Ndayisenga (POC Cote de Lumiere) 24h29’19”
7. Jonas Doring (Team Descartes Romandie) 24h30’19”
8. Didier Munyaneza (Team Rwanda) 24h30’32”
9. Valentin Gaudin (Team Haute Savoie Rhone-Alpes) 24h32’35”
10. Moise Mugisha (Les Amis Sportifs) 24h34’38’


Team Rwanda’s Samuel Mugisha has been crowned the champion for the 2018 Tour du Rwanda that concluded on Sunday in Kigali.

At the age of 20 years and 250 days, Mugisha has made history as the youngest rider ever to win the annual race since it was incorporated into UCI Africa Tour in 2009, a record that was held by Valens Ndayisenga who in 2014 became the first Rwandan rider to win Tour Rwanda.

Then, Ndaysisenga who was racing for Team Karisimbi won Tour du Rwanda, aged 20 years and 326 days.

Mugisha who professionally rides for South Africa’s UCI Continental Team Dimension Data for Qhubeka claimed the yellow jersey on stage two; Kigali-Huye kept it throughout the race, thanks to great team work from his compatriots in Team Rwanda.

The former Club Benediction’s rider Mugisha won this year’s 10th edition and final edition organized under the 2.2 category after covering the 953.2km as the fastest rider clocking 24 hours, 26 minutes and 53 seconds.

With this feat, he now becomes the fourth Rwandan to win Tour du Rwanda in five years since Valens Ndayisenga’s historic feat in 2014.

The 2016 King of the Mountains rider beat his closest contender and compatriot Jean Claude Uwizeye by 21 seconds after the latter posted 24h27’14” while Ethiopian debutant Mulu Hailemicheal finished in the third place clocking 25h27’57”, one minute and four seconds behind.

“I am overwhelmed, I don’t know how I can describe this moment, but I have to digest it,” a visibly excited Migisha revealed

“Thanks to everyone who has been behind us since day one, I had a good team with Team Rwanda they worked for me honestly, I also had good races in Italy before I came with Dimension Data and I think it also helped me so much to win here, “he further added

Algerian veteran rider Azzedine Lagab won the final dramatic 82.2km stage around Kigali beating a field of other four riders in a sprint photo finish all posting 02h06’20”.

On top of the General Classification award, Mugisha also scooped other three awards including the best young rider, best African rider and best Rwandan rider.

Timothy Rugg of Team Embrace the World was the Tour’s most aggressive rider while Ethiopian Mulu Hailemicheal was awarded the King of the Mountains with Bruno Araujo from Angola’s Bai-Sicasal-Petro de Luanda winning the best intermediate sprint award. Uwizeye’s and Ndayisenga’s POC Cote Lumiere was the Tour’s overall best team.

Awards List

Overall winner: Samuel Mugisha awarded by MINISPOC

Best team: POC Cote de Lumiere awarded by Inyange industries ltd

Best Rwandan rider: Samuel Mugisha awarded by Rwanda Development Board (RDB)

Best African: Samuel Mugisha awarded by Rwandair

Most Aggressive rider: Timothy Rugg (Team Embrace the World) awarded by Rwanda tea

Best young rider: Samuel Mugisha awarded by Prime Insurance ltd

Best intermediate sprinter: Bruno Araujo (Bai-Sicasal-Petro de Luanda) awarded by SP Petrol Station

King of the Mountains: Mulu Hailemicheal (Ethiopia) awarded by Cogebanque