Tour du Rwanda 2022 Unveiled

30 November 2021 at 19:52  

Three years after upgrading to the category 2.1 of the Union Cycliste Internationale calendar, the Tour du Rwanda continues to rise.

Following the award of 2025 World Championships to Rwanda, the first time in Africa, is another sign of trust and confidence on the part of the UCI and the world of sport.

Despite the difficult conditions due to the coronavirus pandemic, the 14th edition of the Rwanda race is scheduled to take place as planned on the dates announced: February 20 to 27, 2022.

PNG - 113.6 kb
All stages of Tour du Rwanda 2022
PNG - 280.9 kb
19 selected teams for the 14th edition of Tour du Rwanda

19 teams have been selected from the major cycling nations of the African continent but also from worldwide experienced teams competing in major cycling events on the international calendar like the prestigious Tour de France, the Giro d’Italia and the Vuelta a Espana: among them the UCI World Tour Israel Start-Up Nations, Total-Direct Energie and B&B Hotels of France, Drone Hopper-Androni Giocatolli of Italy and Burgos-BH of Spain.

Rwanda will be represented by its National Team and its UCI Continental Benediction Cycling team.

Once again the route promises to be spectacular with stiff climbs on almost all stages. The famous Wall of Kigali and the Mount Kigali will be part of this exceptional program to make the Tour du Rwanda the most difficult race of the beginning of the 2022 season.

PNG - 121.5 kb
Tour du Rwanda 2022 Sponsors and Partners
PNG - 265 kb
Tour du Rwanda 2022 Leaders Jerseys and their sponsors

19 Selected teams

World Tour: Israel Start-Up Nation (Israel)

UCI Pro Team: Total-Direct Energie (France), B&B Hotels (France),Team Novo Nordisk (USA), Androni-Giocatolli (Italy), Burgos-BH (Spain)

UCI Continental Team : Benediction Cycling Team (Rwanda), Pro Touch Team (South Africa), Bike Aid (Germany),TSG Terengganu (Malaysia), Team Coop (Norway), Wildlife Generation Pro (USA), Team SKS Sauerland NRW (Germany), Tarteletto-Isorex (Belgium)

National Teams: Rwanda, Algeria, Eritrea, Morocco, Great Britain

The Program

Stage 1: Kigali Arena-Kigali Arena (4 km ITT)

Stage 2: Kigali-Rwamagana (148,3 km)

Stage 3: Kigali-Rubavu (152 km)

Stage 4: Kigali-Gicumbi (124,3 km)

Stage 5: Muhanga-Musanze (124,7 km)

Stage 6: Musanze-Kigali Convention Center (152 km)

Stage 7: Kigali-Mont Kigali (152,6 km)

Stage 8: Kigali Canal Olympia-Kigali Canal Olympia (75,3 km)